spunktitud3

Musings on Travel, Fashion & Fun

Photography – Grey-headed Flying-Foxes

1 Comment

Grey-headed Flying-foxes
I still remember this sight I saw at the Royal Botanic Gardens back in 2009. The Gardens was once home to a colony of Grey-headed Flying Foxes, a large species of fruitbat. I have never seen so many bats in my life, and they were quite a sight. For a moment, I thought I was in Transylvania. The bats adapted so well in the gardens that they reached 22,000 in the summers of 2008 and 2010, by which time 28 mature trees, 30 palms and many understorey plants had been killed by the roosting flying-foxes. They were subsequently relocated to other parts of Sydney in 2010. I’ll go visit them again on my next trip Down Under.

Author: spunktitud3

A little post by a fun-loving spunky gal in love with the quirky, the artsy and anything which inspires new creations. Read about her adventures on: spunktitud3.wordpress.com

One thought on “Photography – Grey-headed Flying-Foxes

  1. Hi Juliana,
    I visit Sydney in 2012 to present the Bibigloo.
    There were a lot of Flying Foxes in the Royal Botanic Gardens in winter.At twilight, they invaded the city around the skyscrapers.
    I’ve seen the same show in Tioman in the coconut trees.This kind of bats eats a lot of fruits and i like the look of these animals.
    They are so strange and so cute ! I bought a t-shirt with bat’s guitarist during a rock performance in Sydney. I ‘ll send you the photo.
    Best regards.
    BIBI

What do you think? Let me know!

