spunktitud3

Musings on Travel, Fashion & Fun

A Taste of Nostalgia: Nam Seng Noodles

2 Comments

Nam Seng Noodles

Nam Seng Noodles

I was excitedly walking along China Street towards a Korean restaurant to satisfy my kimchi craving which I had been harbouring for over a week when I was distracted by a lady eating a plate of noodles by the roadside. It looked so tantalizing. I backtracked ten steps to find out which noodle store it came from. Turns out to be Granny Leong who used to sell wonton noodles at the little hut just in front of the old Stamford National Library. Oh my god – how many times I had eaten those noodles when I used to visit the library as a student! Granny Leong must be 80 over years old by now – and she’s still healthy and cackling orders in Cantonese to her helpers – still a feisty dame! I thought that familiar taste was lost to me forever when they demolished the library along with the little hut in 2004. I was naturally uber-excited, and happily ditched my K meal for noodles. Kimchi can wait.

Nam Seng Noodles

Nam Seng Noodles is located at the corner along a row of shophouses along China Street.

Old Stamford Library Food Hut

The little hut in front of the old National Library where Granny Leong used to sell her noodles. They moved to Joo Chiat after this place was demolished in 2004 to make way for – a road tunnel – before settling at Far East Square.

Old Stamford National Library

Old Stamford National Library
I remember going there as a student. I am actually a shy geek, and loved going to the reference library to read.
Photo: National Library Board

Nam Seng Noodles

The signature dishes are the wonton noodles and venison horfun.
Just get the $5 plate cos’ you just can’t get enough of it. Trust me. I had the $4 plate and went back thinking about it day after day. Oh, the unique taste.

Nam Seng Noodles

Sitting area is along a little alley beside the stall. Talk about sanitized back alley dining. I miss the dirt, heh.

Nam Seng Noodles

The noodles were  DELISH with a nostalgic 古早味 taste just as I remembered it. Springy, chewy with a taste so unique, a chilli diehard like me willingly went sans spicy to savour the original taste. I gobbled it up in no time. I tasted sweetness when I bit into the dumplings. Suddenly, I was a student again, having noodles at the little hut in front of the library, it brought a tear to my eye. Oh, nostalgia!

Nam Seng Noodles - Venison Hor Fun

Venison Hor Fun. I still like the wonton noodles better.

Nam Seng Noodles

Granny Leong – PensiveOh what those eyes have seen
Through the decades of street scenes

Of toil, fulfillment and satisfaction
Of happiness, joy and appreciation

Granny faithfully keeps her trade
Of tradition and of love for a husband

And keeping memories of many alive
Oh nostalgia, how you have touched our lives!

Nam Seng Noodles
25 China Street
#01-01 Far East Square
Singapore 049567
Opening Hours: 8:00AM – 9:00PM (Mon to Fri) , 8:00AM – 5:00PM (Sat)
Closed on Sun & PH


Author: spunktitud3

A little post by a fun-loving spunky gal in love with the quirky, the artsy and anything which inspires new creations. Read about her adventures on: spunktitud3.wordpress.com

2 thoughts on “A Taste of Nostalgia: Nam Seng Noodles

  1. Thanks for this post. It fondly reminded me of the hawker centre next to the former National Library building. Although I can’t remember if I have eaten the noodles from Nam Seng Noodles.

What do you think? Let me know!

