spunktitud3

Musings on Travel, Fashion & Fun

Here comes Tigress Woods

Leave a comment

First Golf Lesson on Marina Bay Golf Course

My First Golf Lesson
The view from the golf course was surreal. You can see Marina Bay’s iconic structures such as Marina Bay Sands, Gardens by the Bay’s cooled conservatories and the Singapore Flyer from here.

I love sports. Especially those with big balls – I played competitive volleyball and bowling in school (and nope, I was never mistaken for the ball despite my roundness.). Since I graduated, there hasn’t been much opportunity to play. Hence I decided to take up an individual sport like golf which can take me through retirement. Now I will have something to do other than knit, talk to my cat, go for a stroll in the park with chum D and sleep in my rocking chair when I grow old.

I started my first lesson last night at Marina Bay Golf Course filled with trepidation and much anticipation. Will I manage to hit the ball? Will my golf club fly out of my hand while I take a swing? Will my ball fly backwards? Will I get bored even before the ball flies? I wondered.

First Golf Lesson on Marina Bay Golf Course

Rows of buggies waiting to ferry their golfers

First Golf Lesson on Marina Bay Golf Course

A good way to spy what golf bags are available in the market – why all black? I want mine in neon pink!

First Golf Lesson on Marina Bay Golf Course

Golfers practicing at the driving range. I had to take 10 lessons and pass an exam before I am allowed to go on the golfing green. Maybe I should just play cheat and go Batam for an express green card, naughty naughty!

First Golf Lesson on Marina Bay Golf Course

Nice pose! Must learn, must learn

First Golf Lesson on Marina Bay Golf Course

Cafeteria with a to-die-for view of Marina Bay. There’s a Japanese restaurant too offering an extensive range of sake.

My First Golf Lesson at Marina Bay Golf Course

Wait for me golfing green…10 weeks and an exam away.

First Golf Lesson on Marina Bay Golf Course

This is coach Alan teaching us where to hit the ball. Notice the cross sign he has drawn on the club – the cross section point, known as the ‘sweet spot’ is where we should target to hit the ball at. He’s very patient and pleasant, since I haven’t started to drive him crazy with my “What is this” and “But why” avalanche of questions.

First Golf Lesson on Marina Bay Golf Course

My target of hitting 50 golf balls for Lesson 1. I managed to hit at least 90% of them, not bad for a start. *puffed up pride*

First Golf Lesson on Marina Bay Golf Course

Eyes on the ball and get ready to hit

First Golf Lesson on Marina Bay Golf Course

Whoopee and here goes my swing. I think I did it with too much gutso – Coach says I am using too much force hitting the ball (cos’ I used to play volleyball!), and need to get more into the pendulum swing. Yes coach. Note to self: practice in front of the mirror until I get that photo-worthy pose so that I can cam-whore, haha. And that, by the way, is my most NORMAL set of clothes. I dug high and low for them.

First Golf Lesson on Marina Bay Golf Course

Oh so cute the boy! I cannot lose to him….so embarrassing

First Golf Lesson on Marina Bay Golf Course

I love this three-generation golfing scene – definitely a sport that can last you a lifetime.
I had a funny thought at that moment: the boy golfs cos’ probably Dad asked him to, Dad golfs cos’ probably boss asked him to, and the Grandpa cos’ probably Grandma asked him to so he does not stay at home to nag at her. Haha.

First Golf Lesson on Marina Bay Golf Course

Oh yeah! I had fun on my first golf lesson. My back got a bit sore from the twisting, but the satisfaction of hitting the ball and watching them soar into the air was worth the discomfort. I made a note to golf in style too, with my Adidas by Stella McCartney golf gloves. And now to search for stylo-mylo golf shoes, clothes, visor…..hey hey hey, slow down shopaholic – it’s only Lesson One!

First Golf Lesson on Marina Bay Golf Course

Let’s see if this still stays true after 10 weeks of lessons. Stay tuned for more golfing adventures!

Author: spunktitud3

A little post by a fun-loving spunky gal in love with the quirky, the artsy and anything which inspires new creations. Read about her adventures on: spunktitud3.wordpress.com

What do you think? Let me know!

